In the United  State,  there  are  different  types  of  law.  And  the  difference  between them  is  where  they  apply  and  who  they  apply  to.  Not  all  the  laws  in the  U.S  applies  to  all  levels  of  state, but  they  are  given  limits  to  confine  them.
1. Federal   laws.
This  are  the  laws  that  applies  throughout  the  united  states  and  applies  to  each  and  every  state.  And  are  created  by  the  Federal  government which  is  composed  of  group  of  political  units  like  states  or  province  merge  in  a  federation  in  the  country.
They  includes, patent  and  copyright  laws, bankrupt  laws, immigration  laws, federal  criminal  laws, social  security and  supplemental  security  income (SSI) laws. Some   examples  of  Federal  governments  are  like  Canada, Russia, Brazil, Australia  etc.
2. State  laws.
Within  the united  state,  there  are  fifty  states  and  other  several commonwealths  and  territories  and  each  has  its own system of  laws and  the  court  that  will  handle  the and  that  all  the  people  will  abide  to. 
They  include  the  following: criminal matters, workers  and  compensation  after  an  injury, business  contract, divorce  and  family  matters, wills,  inheritance  and  estate  and  welfare, public  assistance or  Medicaid  matters.
3. Local  laws.
Local  ordinance  is  a law  found  in  the  code of  laws for  minor  political  divisions  than the  state or  even  a  nation,  like  the  local  government  etc.
In  this  level  there  are  different  counties, cities, municipalities,  towns, townships  and  villages in each  state,  commonwealth  and even  the  territory.  Some  of  this  have  their  own system of  court  to  handle  such cases like, rent law,  local  safety  and  zoning.